Swap-bot Time: October 19, 2019 3:07 pm
www.swap-bot.com

BeaGarrido

BeaGarrido
Date Joined: August 30, 2019
Last Online: October 19, 2019
Birthday: August 7
Country: United Kingdom
My Etsy Store
Instagram

About Me

Hello everyone!

My name is Bea, and I'm a Spanish-born translator and artist relocated to UK, currently living in the beautiful city of Canterbury, in the south of England.

Let me tell you a bit more about my interests, work and hobbies :)

Random Things I love

In no particular order! :D

  • Cats

  • Sushi

  • Yellow is my favourite colour

  • Cacti and succulents

  • Jigsaw puzzles

  • Coffee

  • Traveling

  • Old newspapers

  • Writing letters and sending postcards

  • Beetles, butterflies and moths

  • Chocolate

  • Retro gaming

What do I do for a living?

I've been working as a part-time artist for the past three years, and I combine it with my work as a translator to make ends meet! I'd love to be a full time artist, but it's not easy getting established in this industry.

This is what I do as an artist:

  • Traditional wildlife art
  • Pet portraiture
  • Entomology art
  • Currency art (I paint on banknotes from all over the world!)
  • Book page art
  • Any other type of artistic form of expression that involves wild animals, pets or nature in general

So I bet you can tell that I'm a big animal lover :D I work with coloured pencils and acrylic paint, sometimes I dabble in other media, like watercolours, pastels, etc., and I often combine some of them to create mixed media pieces.

I also work as freelance translator and linguist specialist, and my main language pair is Spanish to English. It's not a terribly exciting job, and I spend a ridiculous amount of time in front of my laptop, frantically typing and getting stressy about deadlines, but I enjoy it for the most part :)

Favorite Books

Literature is one of my biggest passions! I would basically read anything and everything, as long is well written! It's hard for me to choose a handful of favourite books, as they tend to change as years go by and my life, interests and circumstances develop and change, but here's a little list of my favourite authors and genres:

(Just a Few!) Favourite Authors

Dostoevski H.G. Wells Terry Pratchett Stephen King Haruki Murakami Agatha Christie George Orwell Herman Melville Tolkien JK Rowling

Favourite Genres

Science Fiction
Thriller, Horror Mystery and Whodunnits Memoirs Historical Fiction/Non fiction Popular science Classics novels Best Sellers of the moment

My Hobbies and Interests

My Hobbies and Interests

Videogames - I've been a dedicated gamer all my life, and I even worked for SEGA Europe and Nintendo as a language QA in London, for a couple of years. All platforms and all genres, I don't discriminate :D

Cooking - I adore food! I enjoy cooking at home, for me or for other people. My favourite cuisines are Mediterranean (Spanish and Italian, bit of Greek too), Indian, Thai and Japanese. I make some pretty good maki sushi :)

Music - I play several instruments and used to work as a sound tech. I did some mixing and post-production too. I mainly love classic rock, blues, funk, R&B, some jazz, prog and psychedelic, old school hip hop, etc...

Art - See above! :D

Literature - See above :D

Ratings

Mandafandaa rated for Ephemera (paperswap) intl on Oct 4, 2019
5
rating
Comment: Thank you so much Bea for the BEAUTIFUL ephemera pack! I’m going to try my best not to hoard it all. 😩 You are just too kind!!! Thank you again.
5
rating
Comment: Hi bea, thank you for your nice letter!!!! Will write back!!!!
SkaGirl rated for 3 Postcards in an Envelope #2 on Oct 2, 2019
5
rating
Comment: I love the postcards, thank you so much!!! :) And welcome to SwapBot!
Barbara rated for 3 Postcards in an Envelope #2 on Sep 30, 2019
5
rating
Comment: Hi Bea, thank you for reading my profile and sending the beautiful postcards. I am honored to be the recipient of your first swap.Best wishes to you too.

Rating Overview

Overall Hearts Stars Hosted
5.0000 4 0 0
Completed Fives Threes Ones
5 4 0 0
Type 1 Type 2 Type 3 Uncategorized
0 5 0 0
View all

Currently Hosting

  • the user is not hosting any current swaps

Comments

Canariangal78 on Sep 17, 2019:

Pues seguro que en unos años ya podrás trabajar a tiempo completo con tus obras porque dibujas y pintas genial por lo que he visto en tu tienda de Etsy! Yo estuve residiendo durante una década en el Reino Unido. Ahora estoy de profesora en Bulgaria. Saluditos de una compatriota! :-)

Login to leave a comment now!